You were involved in a car accident with a negligent driver. But you were driving with an expired registration. Now you’re wondering whether an expired registration could impact your ability to claim compensation for your losses in Alabama. Find out more here from Bence Law Firm, LLC.
Do You Need Insurance Before Registering a Car in Alabama?
Yes. You must provide proof that you carry the following state-mandated minimum amounts of auto insurance before you can register a car in Alabama:
- At least $25,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage, which pays for costs associated with other people’s injuries if you are at fault for an accident
- At least $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- At least $25,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage, which pays for costs associated with vehicle or property damage if you are at fault for a crash
Keep in mind that your liability insurance does not cover your losses after an accident. It only pays for injuries or damage to others resulting from accidents you caused. To ensure you are covered in any circumstance, you may want to purchase additional medical payments coverage (MedPay) or collision insurance that pays for your losses after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
Does an Expired Registration Affect My Insurance Coverage?
No. An expired registration will have no direct impact on your car insurance coverage. If you continue to pay your monthly premiums on time, your car insurance will remain valid regardless of your registration status.
Similarly, your expired registration should not affect your ability to claim compensation from another driver’s liability auto insurance provider. This is because the entities that insure and register vehicles are entirely separate. The Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) manages vehicle registrations in the state, while private insurance companies are responsible for insuring registered vehicles.
While you must show proof of insurance to register your vehicle in the first place, your insurance coverage will not be affected if your registration expires. However, if you are pulled over with an expired registration, you may receive a citation and fine for a non-moving traffic violation.
How is My Car Accident Case Affected if My Registration is Expired?
So, what happens if you are involved in a car accident with a vehicle with an expired registration? Typically, an investigating officer will review your license, registration, and insurance information at the scene and issue a citation if they find your registration has expired.
While it’s never good to drive with an expired registration, a ticket for this offense is not likely to impact your car accident case because it has no bearing on who was at fault for the crash. In most cases, it shouldn’t affect your future auto insurance rates, either.
Contact an Alabama Car Accident Lawyer Today
If you were involved in an Alabama crash with an expired registration, a car accident lawyer at Bence Law Firm, LLC can help defend your rights and seek fair compensation for your injuries. Contact us today to learn more about your legal options in a free initial case review.